Update on not walking any more

A post for my blog…

Hi everyone i started this blog about the same time as I lost my ability to walk… About 4 years ago..   

Some know the story of the why /how I lost my ability to walk… For those who don’t…

Well I was born with a number of different disabilitys including dyspraxia so at times I was fairly uncoordinated.. Also for about 18 years or so a few times a month for a few hours at a time my legs would ramdony stop working… Despite lots of time getting different Dr’s looking at it they never be able to figure out why it happens…

Also I have a lot of tbi (head injurys) over the years…

At times my legs would be a lot more uncoordinated then usual…

Then around 4 years ago I was visiting my mum in hospital and my legs stopped working what was inconvenience for the first few hours… But in a new twist… My legs didn’t come back after a few hours… So I ended up in hospital… A week later my legs umm kinda came back… But I could not walk at all anymore… Also some where along the way I umm lost touch feeling over most of my body /lost what little body awaness I did have… And a was a lot more uncoordinated then I used to be (+lots of other issues)

A number of tests later as still no real answers…

5 weeks in the hospital and still no walking.. After discharge from hospital (having to buy my own wheelchair – since the Dr’s didn’t know what was wrong with me I got no support)

I spend time at a friend’s place and kinda figured a way to “walk” it was very hit and miss and caused a lot of pain (and as I later found out damage/injuries to my body)
Most of the time I used the wheel chair to get around…

And that brings it to now… At times my “walking” got better for a bit before doing a crash and burn /time on bed rest… Hindsight being 20/20 I way over did “walking” and did a lot of damage /injuries to my self..

Looking back part of this was the crazy pressure that was put on me to walk and people’s idea /believe that using a wheelchair to get around was “giving in” /”giving up”… (especially from Dr’s) and anything short of walking again was not good enough…

(ugg stupid able body world suff)

Also wheelchair accessible just sucks in many places…..

I’m way over being in pain /discomfort /dealing with the falls and other issues when trying to” walk “

For me it’s not working… It’s not worth the issues /risks…

No matter how much I work at it its never going to get better…. In fact it would make things worse over time…

So I’m laying in my tent in a fair amount of pain (as I did a very small amount of “walking” to get into 2 shops yesterday…. (because of how incoven unloading my wheelchair on and off the bike can be) hindsight being what it is I should of used the wheel chair for that…. And so will be doing so in future no matter how inconven it is for both myself and others as its safer /causes less pain and other issues…. Cue wheelchair accessible issues… Sigh…

In short “walking” is not umm function for me as such any more besides the few steps that I do to get on or off the bike/some times set up the tent) … Some times a bit more time on my feet (like a bit of hike a bike) thought that comes at a cost to me in pain/discomfort /other issues so it will be fairy rare…..

Life is what it is…..

Have wheels (bike and wheelchair) will explore…..

Leave a comment